Adapty cohorts are designed to answer several important questions:
- What is the average retention of in-app subscriptions?
- How much money does the app earn for a specific cohort?
- How much money can I spend to attract a paying customer?
- How long does it take to recoup the ad spend?
They work with the data that we gather through SDK and store notifications and don't require any additional configuration from your side.
To build cohorts, we use two measures: app installations and transactions (purchases). Every row of a cohort represents a specific time interval: from a day to a year. Each row starts with the number of users who installed the app during this interval and activated a subscription or made a lifetime/non-subscription product purchase.
Every next column in the row shows the number of users who renewed a subscription to this period. M3 stands for month 3 and means that subscribers had 3 consecutive renewals to this point, W7 stands for week 7, and Y2 stands for year 2. Sometimes you can see R2 in cohorts. R stands for renewal. Adapty displays R instead of W/M/Y when there are multiple products with different renewal periods present in the same cohort.
We use gradient colors to highlight differences in cohort values. The biggest numbers have more saturated colors.
In the image below you can see a typical cohort.
- This cohort displays the data only for weekly products (mark #1).
- It shows proceeds as absolute values (mark #2).
- The time period we're working with is last year, and every cohort segment is 1 month long (mark #3).
- The Total row (mark #4) displays the cumulative value for each period. $264K in the first cell of the Total row accumulates the first period (subscription activation) proceeds from all months (January, February, and so on) until the end of the timeframe.
- The first column of the January 2021 row (mark #5) shows the first period (subscription activation) proceeds of $416 from the customers who installed the app in January 2021. The second column of the January 2021 row shows week 2 (subscriptions renewed to the 2nd week) proceeds of $337 who installed the app in January 2021.
- On the right, you can see Total Proceeds and APPPU (mark #6). You can read more about them a little further in this article.
You can hover the mouse on any cell in the cohort to view detailed metrics for this period.
The cells with oblique lines in the background are the periods that are not finished yet, so the values in them might be increased.
By default, Adapty builds cohorts based on the data from all purchases. It might be useful to filter all the products of the same duration or specific products. You can also use country, store, paywall, segment, and attribution data as a filter.
There are 3 metrics that can be shown in cohorts: Proceeds, Revenue, and Subscriptions. You can either display them as absolute values or as a relative change from the start of the cohort.
You can set the date range for cohorts and choose the segment. The segment determines a timespan for each row of the cohort.
Finally, on the right of the control panel, there's a button to export cohort data to CSV. You can then open it in Excel, or Google Sheets, or import it into your own analytical system.
The total proceeds metric helps you to understand how much net money you collected from customers from a specific cohort and calculate ROAS (Return On Ad Spend). For example, if the ad spend for September 2021 was $10000, and the total proceeds for September 2021 cohort are $30000, ROAS=3:1.
The average proceeds per paying user (APPPU) metric helps you to understand how much net money brings you a paying customer on average. You can then use this number as the maximum price you can pay to attract a paying customer.
Both Revenue and Proceeds are money metrics. You can think of Revenue as gross revenue and Proceeds as net revenue. Revenue doesn't account for App Store / Play Store fee, while Proceeds do. Therefore Proceeds are always less than Revenue (15%-30% less to be exact).
Apple and Google take up to 30% of the price paid by the customers as a fee. For the apps included in Small Business Program (i.e. the app makes less than $1m per year), the fee is always 15%. The rest of the apps (>$1m per year) pay 30% by default and 15% for subscriptions that are consecutively renewed for at least a year. This means 53+ renewals for weekly subscriptions, 13+ renewals for monthly subscriptions, and 2+ renewals for annual subscriptions.
Adapty automatically determines the fee for every transaction your customers make and calculates Proceeds based on it.
Be sure to indicate that your app is included in Small Business Program in Adapty General Settings.
Updated about 2 months ago